Friday, January 4, 2013

Mormon Polygamy

     The Mormon Church or the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints practiced plural marriage or polygamy from early on in their history.  In 1882 the federal government pushed hard against the practice and took over financial control of the Church and jailed many of the leaders.  By 1890, church President Wilford Woodruff announced the the church would no longer break the law and perform plural marriages in the United States.
     For another 14 years the church allowed plural marriages to take place in Mexico and Canada and some were secretly performed in the Temples in the U.S.  Finally in 1904 the church outlawed the practice for good and announced that those involved would be subject to excommunication.
     Some new religions were formed after 1904 by those wanting to still participate in Polygamy.  The LDS church today has more than 10 million members.  There are at least 10 religions today that share at least some of their history with this sect.
Mormon Leaders in Prison Clothing

No comments:

Help me out

Please consider clicking on one of the ads to help support my work.